[Return to Concours d'Elegance Home Page] 2001 Special Awards & Trophies
Click on any image for a larger view.

1938 Dubonnet Xenia
One trophy, awarded at the discretion of the Concours judges and committee.

1929 Duesenberg LaGrande Dual Cowl Phaeton
One trophy, awarded at the discretion of the Concours Grand Marshall.

1946 Chrysler Town & Country Convertible
One trophy, awarded to the vehicle obtaining the most votes in public balloting.

1937 Delahaye 135 M
One trophy, awarded at the discretion of the Concours Co-Chairs.

1935 LaSalle Convertible Coupe
R.C. Fogle was active with this event as head judge and committee member from 1988 until his death. R.C. loved all types of automobiles. His vast collection remains today as proof. Able to find beauty in all, he could never limit himself to just one marque. His collection includes models from the 1920's to the 1960's and includes both American and European models.

This award is given in R.C.'s name, as Judge's Choice, to the outstanding car that represents both superior craftsmanship and style.

1955 Cadillac Broadmoor Skyview Limo.
One trophy, awarded by Mrs. Helen Williams, to the vehicle best exemplifying the spirit of the original Concours d'Elegance, an event for car enthusiasts who love to drive their cars.

1913 Mercer Runabout
One trophy, awarded to the vehicle which best represents the spirit of historical preservation for the enjoyment of the public.

1935 Auburn 851 Speedster
As one of the founders of this event, Jack O'Connor orchestrated the "car" part of the first shows. His contacts in the old car hobby ran broad and deep. Jack loved open cars. He owned well over 100 different cars, almost all convertibles or roadsters.

This award is given, in Jack O'Connor's name, to the open car that best represents his lifelong love of automobile style and elegance.

1970 Porsche 917 K
Howard and Marian Rapp helped begin this event. Howard was the first car registration chairman and maintained that position for a number of years. He also solicited advertising and supported the event financially. Howard Rapp loved his 356 Porsches. He owned several during his life. Howard and his wife were very active members of the Porsche Club, traveling to many events over the years.

This award is given in Howard's name, not to a car, but to an owner who best exemplifies Rapp's rapture in the enjoyment of a Porsche.

1957 Ferrari 410 Superamerica
One trophy, awarded to the best Ferrari in memory of Ebby Lunken, Ferrari racer, enthusiast and long time supporter of the Concours.

1933 Packard Model 1005 Coupe Roadster
This award is presented by the Citizen's Motor Car Company to an outstanding example of this historic marque.

1933 Pierce-Arrow V-12 Club Sedan Model 1236
Samuel Adams Boston Beer Company has been an active sponsor of the Concours d'Elegance at Ault Park.

Founders Jim Koch and father Charles Koch of Cincinnati, avid collectors of classic era automobiles, present the Samuel Adams Trophy to the most elegantly styled closed-car.

1958 MG A 1500 Roadster
Being a manufacturer of new and restored historic wire wheels, Dayton Wire Wheel Products of Dayton, Ohio sponsors this trophy on behalf of the great British passion for the sports car.

1972 Lamborghini Miura SV
This trophy is awarded to the vehicle that, in the judgement of the sponsor representative, is found to be the most desirable car to be driven on the day of the show.

To be eligible, the owner must be willing to take the designated sponsor representative for a drive in the chosen vehicle.

1952 Kaiser Traveler Virginian
One trophy, awarded at the discretion of the Concours judges.

1935 Chrysler Imperial Airflow C-2 Coupe
One trophy, awarded at the discretion of the Concours judges.

1962 Lincoln - Kennedy Presidential "Bubbletop" Limo.
Bill Hess' legacy with Hess & Eisenhardt is characterized by a dedication to design and building of custom automobiles. One of the most advanced stylists in the business, presidents, actors and kings chose his vehicles for their beauty and quality. He believed that a company that produced a quality product would endure.

It is for that accomplishment that this award is given for design excellence.

[Return to Display Index] [Next Page]
Photo Credit: Bob Craig, except as noted.
[Return to Concours d'Elegance Home Page]